CIFB Chap. 72 Summary

Countdown: 3!


Extra 03-3: I’m Dead Set on this “Daughter-in-Law”

Jiang Ying was quite curious about why Ling Ke would have such thoughts. After this month of interactions, she could tell that Ling Ke wasn’t one to be swayed by emotions. He had a strong motivation and ambition, and also held himself to strict standards. These were all admirable qualities to Jiang Ying.

Therefore, when Ling Ke said this was his own decision, Jiang Ying didn’t quite believe him. She thought that perhaps Qi Feng has instigated him to say this.

With an “I’ve completely seen through you” look, Jiang Ying smiled: “Tell me about what you’re thinking.”

After a slight pause, Ling Ke began: “Since young, I’ve always had a habit of looking forward, of making plans for the future. I would care more about completing a task and the next challenge while ignoring my own feelings during the process. Before, I didn’t think there was anything wrong w/ this, b/c that’s how I’ve walked this far, and also obtained some success. But now that I’m together w/ Qi Feng, I’ve discovered that his view on time is vastly different. He cares more about the now. This means, the future in my eyes is equivalent to the present in his. Perhaps, the way he feels right now will become the norm for us in the future……”

Ling Ke remembered Qi Feng complaining about his mom’s way of life. That already revealed his stance on this subject, but Qi Feng and his mom were blood related so they couldn’t possibly live apart. But a boyfriend?

Compared to blood relatives, a lovers relationship was much weaker. Besides, they’re also of the same sex. Qi Feng definitely wouldn’t want a such workaholic boyfriend.

“If I neglect him once, perhaps he’d only be a bit unhappy. But if that continued, his unhappiness would definitely accumulate, up until he could endure no more, to the point we no longer think we’re suited for one another… Right now, we’re still in the beginning stages of dating and Qi Feng would thus forgive me, but I don’t want to take advantage of his good temper and his sincere heart. I don’t want him to make him always yield to me.”

At this point, Ling Ke looked at the silent Jiang Ying, then continued, “Auntie Jiang, I’m very grateful towards all your help. But, I want to be able to walk longer w/ Qi Feng, so I have to adjust my present perspective on time, and take a step back to compromise……”

Jiang Ying stared at him blankly, unable to find the words.

Ling Ke’s words moved her deeply, shook her heart, and made her think of…her own failed marriage 10 years ago.

From their “joined at the hip and honey-sweet” period, to when they both fought for their own career and gradually drifted apart……

Working at the TV station was a busy job. When she first started, she had 3 live broadcasts a day, often working from 6 in the morning to 9 at night. Qi YuanCheng was the same, shaking up the business world and flying all over the globe.

They rarely met even once a month, and she’d often reject the other’s carefully planned candle-lit dinners due to working overtime.

The two of them fought more than once over this. Qi YuanCheng had sincerely suggested that she give up her career. He had said: “YingYing, I can support you. You don’t need to struggle so hard. I only want you to have some time to keep me company, a little time to play with the kids.”

But she didn’t listen. At that time, her career was on the rise, and she expressed her inability to understand why Qi YuanCheng would suggest such a thing— Why should I give up my career for this family, and not you?

Qi YuanCheng’s business was indeed very large, but she wasn’t willing to become a delicate woman that fully relied on her man.

Two people w/ high pride, neither willing to step back, and in the end they divorced, living on opposite sides of the world.

In these 10 years, had she felt regret?

Of course she had. That was the only man she’d loved her entire life. In the deepest, darkest nights, she also wished someone was beside her, to share her happiness and woes, her exhaustion and joys.

From what Qi Yu told her, YuanCheng would also occasionally attend some social events and join in the fun w/ others, but in these 10 years, he didn’t seem to plan on remarrying, nor did he have a steady girlfriend.

Sometimes, she also wondered, if it was like this, then why did they divorce? Even if they’d only meet once a year, it’d still better than this, right?

But she was too proud and was one of the top female anchors in the area. Naturally, she wouldn’t lower her head first.

……

But now, after hearing Ling Ke’s words, Jiang Ying finally saw things through.

She smiled bitterly in her heart. After living for almost 50 years, rich in experience and successful in her career, she actually couldn’t compare to a 20 some young man when it came to emotions.

Seeing that Jiang Ying continued to remain silent, Ling Ke thought that she didn’t approve, and clenching his fists, felt extremely nervous.

Jiang Ying finally came out of her introspection, reached over to rub his head, and said only 2 words: “Good child.”

If she had Ling Ke’s wisdom all those years ago, would her family still fall to pieces?

Hearing her words, the stone in his heart finally dropped.

He said in a soft voice, “Auntie Jiang, don’t worry. On the road to love, I won’t give up my own desires. If I have questions related to work, I might still need to ask for your help. I hope…you won’t be disappointed in me.”

“Dumb child, don’t be so foolish.” Jiang Ying smiled and couldn’t resist rubbing his head again.

Don’t even talk about disappointed, she even wanted to thank Ling Ke.

Jiang Ying’s smile contained a thread of gentleness that didn’t exist before. Not as an elder towards the younger generation, nor a superior towards their subordinate, but the gentleness of a mother towards herchild… Such a smile warmed Ling Ke’s heart.

He thought: So Qi Feng’s smile was inherited from his mom. The way they curved their lips was exactly the same.

When they got home, Qi Feng and Snowlass came out to welcome them.

That night at dinner, Ling Ke didn’t mention his internship ending this month, and Jiang Ying didn’t bring it up either.

It wasn’t until they went upstairs, and she didn’t know what Ling Ke said, but a suddenly burst of squeals came from above, quickly followed by Qi Feng’s voice as he hollered: “Thank you Mom! I love you Mom!”

Jiang Ying: “……”

Shaking her head, she smiled, feeling blessed.

The landline suddenly rang. Seeing the familiar number and thinking it was Qi Yu, she picked up and immediately greeted, “Little Yu.” But instead, after a few seconds of silence, the voice on the other side said, “It’s me.”

Jiang Ying immediately sat up and put on airs as she replied in her broadcaster voice, “Oh, good evening. Why did you call?”

That’s right, the person who called was Jiang Ying’s ex-husband, Qi YuanCheng.

Qi YuanCheng went straight to the point: “I heard Qi Yu say that Little Feng got a boyfriend?”

Jiang Ying: “They’ve been together for half a year now. You’re pretty behind on the news.”

Qi YuanCheng: “……”

Jiang Ying: “You care about this?”

Qi YuanCheng: “Of course, he’s my son… But what is the deal with a boyfriend? Is this his rebellious stage? Shouldn’t we discuss the issue of the children’s education?”

Jiang Ying smiled: “Haha, what is there to discuss over the phone. If you mind, then you can come back and see for yourself.”

Qi YuanCheng: “……Recently, I don’t have the time.”

Jiang Ying: “No problem. I don’t think Qi Feng’s going to break up w/ his boyfriend any time soon, so you can take your time.”

Qi YuanCheng: “…………”

Jiang Ying hung up then shot a smiling glance upstairs, thinking: We’re already divorced, and it’s not like you need Qi Feng to continue your Qi family’s lineage. What are you so nervous for? In any case, I’m dead set on this “daughter-in-law”, so if you come looking for trouble, you’ll have to get past me first.

[[Mama Qi is so badass I love her~~~]]

 

8 comments

  1. Remembering reading this via MTL I was sad (enjoying the novel), but seeing the summary/translation it brings a tear to my eyes (the feels!). Thanks again for sharing your summary/translations!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment