CIFB Chap. 74 Summary

AND IT’S OVER.

Thank you everyone for the support and comments! This has been a wonderful experience and I really enjoyed reading this amazing novel with all of you!!

It’s been such a ride, and I’m honestly kind of sad it’s over ;; I loved this novel to pieces, so I’m really happy to have gotten this chance to share this with you. Although these weren’t direct translations, but nevertheless, I hope you enjoyed the story through my detailed summaries.

Two months late, but at least I finished as promised. Sorry, this is still a queued post, so I won’t be able to reply to questions/comments until much later.

Without further ado…


Extra 03-5: Finale

Soon, it was the day before the wedding. Jiang Ying originally wanted to invite her assistant Dong Han as the maid of honor, but unfortunately, she was so busy she couldn’t even leave for 2 days and could only offer her congratulations from the other side of the ocean.

With no other choice, this duty fell to Ling Ke.

After hearing this, Ling Ke asked in shock, “What? Maid of honor?”

Jiang Ying, currently trying on her wedding dress and smiling: “Yep.”

Qi Feng, who was also there, grew fretful: “Mom, stop joking, Ling Ke’s a guy!”

Jiang Ying arched an eyebrow: “I know that, so what if he’s a guy? Didn’t I get people to tailor him a white tuxedo?”

Half a month ago, Jiang Ying had the tailor get Ling Ke’s measurements, saying that it was for the wedding. When they chose the color, Jiang Ying went with white.

At first, Ling Ke thought that b/c this was a western wedding, everyone had to wear white, but it wasn’t until last night that he found out Qi Yu and Qi Feng would both wear black, and only he would wear white.

Qi Feng even joked on bed that his mom did this on purpose so he and Ling Ke would look like a couple. B/c of that, he even became super excited, as if this was his and Ling Ke’s wedding instead of his parents’.

But no one had thought that Jiang Ying did this b/c she wanted Ling Ke as her maid of honor. She had Dong Han’s job for 10+ years, so how could she not know the other wouldn’t have the time to come!

Ling Ke was both dumbfounded and nervous: “I…… This, I’m not really suited, right?”

Plenty of Jiang Ying old classmates came, but at her and Qi YuanCheng’s age, those women were all married and some even had grandchildren, so they definitely weren’t suited to be a “maid”. (I know jack shit about weddings so idk how accurate the raws are on this “maids can’t be married” thing.)

Jiang Ying gave a laugh: “How are you not? You’re my son’s boyfriend, so technically, you’re our Qi family’s daughter-in-law. Qi Yu doesn’t have a girlfriend yet and you and Little Feng aren’t married, so you’re the most suitable as my maid of honor.”

Ling Ke’s lips twitched…… D-daughter-in-law?

Jiang Ying: “Alright already, Little Ke. I’ve always admired your calm and cool-headedness. You’ll only have to support my hand and walk a bit. I believe you’ll do a fine job.”

At this point, Qi Feng was completely convinced by his mom. Or perhaps it was due to that “daughter-in-law”, thus he gleefully nodded on the side: “That’s right, that’s right! KeKe, you can do it!”

Ling Ke threw him a glare, but he was helpless against this mother-son duo and could only accept such a “wonderful assignment” that made his balls hurt.

The wedding took place at one of the local villas. Qi YuanCheng might have shocked the market and was super wealthy, but he kept a low profile.

Taking into consideration that Jiang Ying was also a famous anchor and in order not to cause too much public clamor, they chose this location after extreme caution and care.

The villa they picked wasn’t famous, but it had a large, beautiful lawn and a Catholic church nearby. After careful decoration, it was very suited for holding a wedding.

Due to becoming Jiang Ying’s “maid of honor”, Ling Ke and Qi Feng separated the night before.

The next day, he followed the bride’s car, and when they reached the church, Ling Ke carefully took Jiang Ying’s arm and stepped out of the car. Under the cheers of the guests, he held the bride’s arm and walked into the church.

When Ling Ke saw Qi Feng standing at the altar next to Qi YuanCheng, for a moment there, he really got a feeling that…this was his and Qi Feng’s wedding.

Qi Yu was also present, standing there w/ his hands in his pockets. Although the 2 of them looked exactly the same, Ling Ke still immediately recognized Qi Feng— That person stood there, looking just as nervous as he felt, a completely different person compared to the calm and composed Qi Yu.

Ling Ke passed Jiang Ying’s hand into Qi YuanCheng’s. The man who looked somewhat similar to Qi Feng murmured a quiet “Thank you” to him.

Following that, Qi Feng impatiently walked over and led him away.

The 2 of them sat down in the reserved seat in the 1st row, and even then, Qi Feng didn’t let go of Ling Ke’s hand. Here, they listened to Qi YuanCheng and Jiang Ying’s vows.

The pastor was someone close to his 60s, probably one of Qi YuanCheng’s friends.

He gave a simple introduction to Qi YuanCheng and Jiang Ying’s separation/reunion in these 20 years and expressed his emotions and blessings towards these two picking up the pieces and starting anew. Finally, he intoned, “The groom, Qi YuanCheng, do you, once more, take Miss Jiang Ying to be your lawfully wedded wife?”

“Yes, I do.”

Hearing Qi YuanCheng’s words, Qi Feng tightened his grip on Ling Ke’s hands, as if he was also saying, “I do”.

Then, the pastor looked towards Jiang Ying: “The bride, Jiang Ying, do you, once more, take Mister Qi YuanCheng as your lawfully wedded husband?”

“Yes…” Jiang Ying smiled like the spring, full of light, “I do.”

Ling Ke also gripped Qi Feng’s hand.

…Yes, I do.

 

His parents’ remarriage made Qi Feng incredibly happy, and he spent the whole summer smiling foolishly like his family’s Snowlass.

After they got back to China, Qi Feng received the official photos and recordings from his parents’ wedding and discovered that quite a few were of him and Ling Ke, and of Ling Ke supporting his mom. Besides himself with joy, he posted them to his WeChat!

A long time ago, Ling Ke had warned him not to post things related to them to avoid arousing his parents’ suspicions, but after Qi Feng accidentally posted this, Mama Ling actually gave him a ‘Like’!

Seeing that ‘Like’, Ling Ke wanted to explode. His mom really didn’t have any other reactions?

In one of the photos, he and Qi Feng were holding hands! The two of them wore black and white matching tuxedos! Was his mom this dense or did she think nothing was wrong about that!?

Ling Ke felt something was odd, and due to his “guilty” conscience, grew more and more uneasy.

After deliberating for a few days, he felt that since his relationship w/ Qi Feng had already reached this point, it wouldn’t do to keep hiding it from his parents. Thus, he decided to officially come out to them.

Qi Feng, nervous: “What if they don’t agree to us being together?”

Ling Ke comforted him: “It’s fine, they’ll still respect my decision… As long as we talk carefully and tell them about how I found out I liked men since middle school, they’ll definitely understand.”

Although he said that, Ling Ke still faced this w/ a heavy heart.

Qi Feng: “Then I’ll come with you.”

Ling Ke: “No, coming out is my own issue and has nothing to do w/ you. I also need to confront this alone.”

Qi Feng knew that once Ling Ke made a decision, he’d never turn back, thus didn’t insist anymore.

After a few more days of mental preparation, Ling Ke apprehensively returned home and told his parents about dating Qi Feng. Yet to his surprise, his parents seemed very calm.

“We already know.” Mama Ling looked at him, sighed, then told him the truth.

Actually, 3 months ago, Qi YuanCheng and Jiang Ying privately came to them for a talk.

Originally, Jiang Ying wanted to treat them to dinner, which completely overwhelmed them. After all the care she’s given Ling Ke, it should actually be them treating her. During the meal, Qi YuanCheng and Jiang Ying were both very friendly and enthusiastic without putting on any airs at all.

Ling Ke didn’t believe that a single meal could change his conservative parents’ views, so Jiang Ying and Qi YuanCheng must have said something.

“Oh……” Under Ling Ke’s intense gaze, Mama Ling revealed, “Mr. Qi gave us ¥5 million as thanks for you helping him and Anchor Jiang get back together.”

Ling Ke, shocked to no end: “¥5, 5 million!!!”

Mama Ling: “That’s right. Just think how much that is… We were both terrified and refused immediately, but Anchor Jiang insisted that we take it, saying that this was only a small token of appreciation. That in the future when you and Qi Feng get together and become one family, there’ll be more……”

Ling Ke: “……” So his parents took the bribe? Sold their son for ¥5 million?

After that, it was Papa Ling’s turn: “When we heard ‘one family’, at 1st we didn’t understand, but later, Mr. Qi explained to us about the gay marriage laws in America and how you and Qi Feng loved each other dearly. So if you stayed together, there was no need to worry about the future b/c they’ll pave the road for you two……”

Mama Ling: “Your father and I were both struck dumb. Originally, we thought they were joking, but thinking about it later, we realized that since young, you’ve never shown us the deepest part of your heart. Perhaps you feared that we wouldn’t…understand you, thus you never said anything.”

Ling Ke remained silent, knitting his brows and putting on a cold and aloof attitude.

Papa Ling: “Anchor Jiang also said that technology is incredible right now, so even if you and Qi Feng want to have a child together, that’s not a problem at all. At that time, you can have a test tube baby, and the child could even inherit the surname Ling……”

Ling Ke: “……” Holy shit! They even considered the issue of children? Ling Ke felt like his world views just shattered!

After talking w/ his parents, Ling Ke was still extremely muddleheaded.

Shouldn’t the normal progression of events when Jiang Ying and Qi YuanCheng went to find his parents be, his parents slamming the money across their faces with a “You dare!”, or something like that? How did it turn out like this?

Qi Feng then called, and an eager voice came through: “How was it?”

Ling Ke thought about the person on the other side of the phone: a perfect family, full of love, and even had parents that’d secretly help his boyfriend come out of the closet. He couldn’t help but sigh, “Congratulations, you winner in life.”

Qi Feng: “……They agreed?”

The other’s reaction wasn’t nearly as excited as Ling Ke expected. Furrowing his brows, he asked suspiciously, “You…know something, don’t you?

Qi Feng: “……”

Ling Ke gritted his teeth: “The photos on WeChat were also intentional?”

Qi Feng: “KeKe! I’m sorry! That uh, didn’t I still owe you a favor… Before, every time I asked you about coming out of the closet, you always looked extremely distressed, so I went to ask my dad for help… He’s an expert when it comes to negotiations, so he should, should manage to let your parents not make things difficult for you. Besides, didn’t you say your dad was my mom’s die-hard fan? My mom also gave a lot of signed photos to your dad! Ah no wait, he’s our dad, our dad… KeKe, don’t be angry……”

Ling Ke closed his eyes, and for some reason, felt that he, who had Qi Feng, was the true winner in life.

“Don’t say anymore. You’d better hurry up and appear in front of me, right now, immediately,” he ordered into the phone, an impossible to conceal smile blooming across his face.

“……Yes!

[THE END]

[[Lmao @ Ling Ke’s imagination of his parents rejecting Qi Feng’s parents~

Anyways, thank you again for sticking w/ me on this wonderful ride. Here’s something quick and messy I did after I rushed-finished these summaries a few days ago as of this post going up. I haven’t drawn in forever, so rip quality orz]]

zzzzzz

After this post, I guess this blog’s going on hiatus until I get back. WordPress is blocked in China according to wiki, so I won’t be able to post here until I get back.

But!

I’ll probably be able to borrow a laptop and go online at times, and maybe I’ll get a chance to type things up in notepad to share. Idk when that’ll be as of making and queuing this, but I hope everyone will be well until we meet again! Mwah! ❤️

41 comments

  1. just got through all of this, had so much fun reading your “summaries”!! now all I want to do is go rereading WFYO while waiting for more of that :’)

    thanks for sharing an amazing story with everyone through translation!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. You’re welcome. Btw do you have any recommended novels? I like this kind of novel. The environment is in university because it relates to me haha. Once again, thank you so much for all of your hardwork. I really appreciate it!

        Like

        1. If you go to the “Raws I’ve Read” in the header at the top (or just click the link), you’ll see a huge list of all the Chinese novels I’ve read. The titles with stars are the ones I’d rec, though the ones that don’t have stars aren’t necessarily bad.

          For untranslated novels, I liked “Do You Like Me or Not” which was really cute and also had disco-ing ghosts. Part of “Reborn to Epiphanies” covers university years. It’s not a campus-focused novel but still a really good read imo.

          If you’re looking for translated novels, I liked “Waiting for You Online”, which is also by the same author as CIFB. “It’s Not Easy Being Your Love Rival’s Big Brother” is also really good, though the story also goes past university days. “Online Gaming: Love You 69 Seconds” was also quite cute iirc, though as the title implies, a large part takes place in the game world.

          I think that’s all the ones I can think of involving university-aged protags. Sorry, I mostly read xianxia/cultivation novels, so if you want recs in that genre, I’d have a lot more. Happy reading!

          Like

  2. Thank you so much for the translation/summaries! 😭 It was an amazingly sweet read!!! I do hope things are better now for you irl. Again, thank you for sharing. Looking forward to your future works!

    Like

    1. I’m really happy you enjoyed it! Things are looking better irl, thank you for asking <3 (No promises, but hopefully I'll have something new out soon)

      Like

  3. Thank you so much for doing these summaries!! ♥️♥️

    This story is so great and I’m sad that it’s already over, your translations of it were really good! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you very much for your work! This novel was a sweet, fluffy ride. I discovered this quite late and while I missed out being able to comment as each chapter came out, it’s also a pleasure to binge-read! I hope you are in a better place now mentally and physically, and coping with the existential and mid-life crises. I also am very much looking forward selfishly to your coming back out of hiatus!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful story! I honestly like the summary format better than direct translation because it flows better in my ears. As someone from the US, the English phrases and memes/idioms/jokes you used have much more impact than Chinese humor (don’t get me wrong, literal translations are funny as well–and cute!–but native jokes will always carry more punch if you know what I mean).

    Before I write a wall of text, hats off to you translators (summarizers?) especially you Winter-sama for your patience and efforts. I hope you have a wonderful and fruitful stay in China. Cheers!! <3

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay! What a beautiful ending. I love how happy and completely non-angsty this novel is. It’s like a breath of spring air.

    Thank you for translating the whole novel! I enjoyed this story a lot, laughing and squealing and occasionally passing out from the cuteness.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for everything Winter! Youre work is so good!I’m sad we wont get to hear from you for a while! We’ll wait for you!

    Like

  8. Its end 😭 I am happy and sad in the same time. I will miss this two boys and their wicked family and friends 😂 Thank you for sharing this summary to us. I love this novel to piece too ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m going to reread this. I’m going to reread it and savour the journey once more. Thanks again Winter. Good luck in China!

    Like

  10. Thanks for everything you’ve been an amazing translator. I’ve loved all of your things. Thank you so much for your hard work. I hope in the future you will be able to still do this. Have fun in China !!!

    Like

  11. Such a cute story!!! Thanks for the detailed summaries.

    Btw, a married woman can be part of the bridal party (in the US at least)… if she’s the lead one it’ll be “matron of honor.” Sounds so old though lol!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Thank you for the update and your hard work 😄. I truly enjoy this novel and with your summary😍😍😍, I know I didn’t miss anything. Good luck with future endeavours and see you when you get back.👏👏👏.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment