CIFB Chap. 62 Summary

And we’ve reached the end of the ‘Refrain’ section!

Ahh, this was a very emotional chapter.


Chapter 62:

Jiang Ying asked, “You and Qi Feng got into a fight?”

Ling Ke blinked. “No.”

Jiang Ying: “I have no idea what’s going on w/ that child. I asked him earlier to call you over for dinner, but he told me to call you myself, so I thought you two had a fight……”

Ling Ke: “……”

Jiang Ying: “It’s good if you didn’t. I’ll have the chauffeur pick you up in a while so go prepare. Remember to keep your phone on.”

Even though they didn’t fight, but Qi Feng’s vastly different from usual attitude made Ling Ke quite distressed.

On the other end, Jiang Ying hung up, looked at her younger son who was listening off to the side w/ perked up ears, and helplessly sighed. Clearly, he cared a lot, but still wanted to pretend otherwise.

“I finished the call.” Jiang Ying waved her phone.

“Oh……” Qi Feng looked down and played w/ his phone, his heart a fretful mess. Once Ling Ke comes, he’ll see Bro, what to do……

“You’re not going to pick him up?”

Qi Feng sat on the sofa and didn’t move. “The chauffeur is enough.”

Jiang Ying: “……” So they really did have a lover’s quarrel?

A while later, Qi Yu came downstairs.

He got back late last night so he only called Qi Feng this morning. He was originally wearing casual stay-at-home clothes, but hearing that Little Bro’s “boyfriend” was coming too, went upstairs to change.

Qi Feng lifted his head, and seeing Qi Yu wearing his favorite shirt, instantly jumped up: “Hey! Why are you wearing my clothes!”

Qi Yu looked at his clothes: “Why are you overreacting like that? Is this shirt very special?”

Qi Feng: “……Don’t you have your own clothes!”

Qi Yu came over and sat down on the sofa: “I’m only staying for 2 weeks. You have clothes, so why should I bother bringing any?”

His tone was obvious: What’s yours is mine.

Qi Feng: “My boyfriend’s coming over. What if he thinks you’re me!”

“Then so what? Won’t be the 1st time I’ve been mistaken as you. Unless, you’re afraid I’m going to steal away your boyfriend?” Qi Yu shot him a glance and sneered, “If I really do manage to steal him away, then he’s not worth your love, no?”

This jabbed Qi Feng right in his weak spot, making him so angry he almost cursed out loud, but in the end, he could only stalk off in a huff.

 

On the way to Qi Feng’s house, Ling Ke sent the other a few texts on WeChat. This was already the most he could concede for this strange, cold war of theirs……

But Qi Feng didn’t reply.

Conflicted, Ling Ke looked outside the window.

It’s only been how many months, and already ignoring me on WeChat?

Since you don’t like me, then I shouldn’t even be going!

If you hate me then just say it. This not-hot not-cold treatment, wtf is your meaning?

……

The trees had started to bud, and the first winds of spring with the afternoon light made for a beautiful view. But Ling Ke’s heart was in the dead of winter, wondering how much longer this first love of his would last.

Love truly was the greatest affliction of one’s mood.

When happy, everything’s beautiful, but when sad, everything’s terrible.

The driver dropped him off before going to park the car, so Ling Ke walked through the front yard himself. Just as he was about to knock and his heart hung on a tightrope, he saw Qi Feng open the door and appear.

All the anger and sadness he felt in the car transformed into an urge to throw himself into the other’s arms.

I miss you.

Let’s stop this cold war, okay?

Whatever I did wrong, tell me, don’t ignore me.

……

But all of that was squashed under his pride and reason.

Ling Ke stared at the young man less than a meter away from him, and suddenly felt this person seemed a bit unfamiliar.

This unfamiliarity didn’t come from their “cold war”, but from the politeness and distance that seemed to say they really weren’t familiar.

Ling Ke blinked, then cautiously said, “Hello…… May I ask if Qi Feng’s home?”

That person stared at Ling Ke with interest: “How did you know I’m not Qi Feng?”

Inwardly shocked while also letting out a sigh of relief, Ling Ke also carefully observed the other… This was Qi Feng’s older brother?

Gods above, they looked way too alike. Even at such a close distance, he couldn’t see any differences; even their clothes were the same.

“B-by, intuition.” Ling Ke remembered what he once promised Qi Feng and automatically shifted his gaze to the side, no longer staring directly at the person in front of him.

Qi Yu continued to look at him for quite a few seconds, wearing an ambivalent smile with a raised eyebrow. Right before he felt uncomfortable, the other finally moved to the side and let him in.

“I remember you,” Qi Yu didn’t introduce himself and said this instead.

Ling Ke paused… What do you remember?

Qi Yu: “You’re the person I played a duet with 5 years ago. Moonlight Sonata and Fantaisie Impromptu.”

Ling Ke’s 1st reaction was that Jiang Ying told him this, but thinking back, she had asked him about it but he lied and said no, so it shouldn’t be her… And Qi Feng definitely wasn’t a possibility; that guy didn’t know anything.

Qi Yu led him to the living room and smiled: “You only grew a bit older, a bit taller. Your face didn’t change much.”

Looks like it was Qi Yu himself who remembered. Ling Ke was both shocked at the other’s strong memory and also nervous about how to explain this to Qi Feng later.

“Sit.” Qi Yu saw his absent-minded expression and looked upstairs. “Little Feng’s upstairs and will probably come down a bit later. Let’s chat for a while.”

The housekeeper brought tea, and Qi Yu personally poured Ling Ke a cup. “Tell me about you and Little Feng.”

Stupefied, Ling Ke didn’t know where to start.

Qi Yu: “That we performed a duet together, does he know? I don’t think I heard him mention it before… With his personality of telling me everything under the sun, if he knew, he’d definitely call and bother me about it.”

Qi Feng truly didn’t know. Ling Ke felt a rush of guilt and had a premonition that all he strove to hide would soon get exposed by this person who shared the same face w/ Qi Feng.

He was also afraid, desperately considering the best way to lessen the impact of his lies…… Or should he keep lying and say that he forgot everything about the TV station?

Qi Yu sensed Ling Ke’s inner conflict, shot him a glance, and asked, “Getting together w/ my little brother, did that have anything to do with me?”

Ling Ke sucked in a breath of cold air and instantly replied, “No!”

As soon as that left his mouth, Ling Ke knew that he had lost his chance to lie b/c of his panicked tone.

However, to say it had nothing to do w/ Qi Yu was also impossible, as he had only recently found out that it wasn’t Qi Feng he met at the TV station.

“But didn’t you meet me first? And here I thought you mistook him for me……” Qi Yu looked at him with a smile, as if chatting naturally w/ a normal friend.

Ling Ke’s lips twitched. He discovered a similarity b/t these two brothers: They were both narcissists!

At this point, if he didn’t explain everything, then he’ll never be able to wash himself clean. Ling Ke closed his eyes, nervously clenched his fists, and confessed, “It wasn’t. The 1st time I met Qi Feng was even earlier… …It was the year I graduated from elementary school.”

This time, it was Qi Yu’s turn to be shocked: “Eh?”

Ling Ke succinctly explained what happened at the piano level test, then said, “Two years later at the TV station, when I saw you, I thought he forgot about me.”

Qi Yu tilted his head: “So you mistook me for Qi Feng? And not the other way around? Unhappy that I forgot you, so when I asked for your name, you replied… ‘I’m not telling you’?”

Ling Ke awkwardly lowered his gaze, feeling that he really was way too childish back then.

The corner of Qi Yu’s eye twitched: “So now, can you tell me what your name is?”

Ling Ke put on a courageous face: “Ling Ke.”

Looking at the cautious way the other acted, Qi Yu found it quite interesting, thus he deliberately joked, “What part of Little Feng do you like anyways? Can’t it be me?”

“……??” Hearing this, cold sweat appeared all over Ling Ke’s forehead! He stared at the other in disbelief: “No.”

Qi Yu: “Why?”

Ling Ke explained in a fluster: “I feel like you two are…completely different people.”

Qi Yu: “I look exactly like him, so how are we different?”

Ling Ke: “It’s just a feeling. He’s a very familiar, a very sunshine-like existence, treating ppl w/ sincerity and good at understanding others… But the feeling you give me is more withdrawn. To be honest, I’m not really sure how to interact with you……”

If the other wasn’t Qi Feng’s older brother, Ling Ke probably wouldn’t have been able to say more than 3 words.

In order to let Qi Yu better understand how he differentiated the 2 of them, Ling Ke recalled all that happened b/t them and chose a few to say: the time he got kissed after their duet performance, their fake lovers game, the flower boat at the old hamlet… While he recounted these things, he heart also slowly warmed, but then he suddenly remembered what Qi Feng complained about this morning before leaving. Finally, he seemed to understand why Qi Feng started a “cold war” with him.

Although the other was very passionate, but when it came to love, they were the same and lacked a sense of security. Qi Feng also wanted him to act spoiled, wanted to receive his attention at all times……

Ling Ke sighed. He was wrong; he shouldn’t have only cared about his own dignity, hiding this from Qi Feng for so long……

Later, he’ll tell Qi Feng everything, and then hug him, and kiss him.

“I’ve liked him for many years. Being able to be with him now, I’m really very happy……” Ling Ke was still immersed in his recollections, and although his brows were slightly knit, he didn’t know just how gentle and deeply in love he looked in Qi Yu’s eyes.

Qi Yu lightly exhaled then turned towards the stairs: “Oi, how long are you going to keep eavesdropping?”

At this moment, Qi Feng had no words to describe his boundless feelings.

He had seen when the chauffeur dropped Ling Ke off and wanted to go down and open the door, but his brother was a step ahead.

He hesitated a beat, and despite knowing that Ling Ke couldn’t really tell the difference between them, still masochistically hid behind the stairs, wanting to personally see how his most beloved would react to the twin brother who shared his face.

He heard Bro say he remembered Ling Ke and felt his heart shatter in pain… As expected, they knew each other.

When his bro said “Can’t it be me?”, Qi Feng came that close from jumping out and kicking his brother all the way back to America.

Was it then that Bro realized he was eavesdropping?

[[I don’t think there was a skit after this either? Or at least not on the site I was reading from, but oh my goddddddddddddddddddd finally, everything’s been revealed.]]

27 comments

  1. Dear Winter,

    Please don’t tell me you have dropped this because someone is translating this novel now. Please don’t, because I truly enjoy these summaries (they seem like translated chapters to me) and deeply appreciate the effort you have put into churning out the summarised chapters for us. Hope everything is fine IRL wise. Sending positive thoughts/vibes and love your way.

    Yours Sincerely,
    Reader (Stalking Leech)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ohnoohnoohno cliffhanger I NEED the next chapter… It’s been almost two weeks since the last update dear translator please PLEASE PUT UP THE NEXT ONE I’ll forever worship you~

    Like

  3. OMG. Your summaries read almost like translations to me — they’re *that* good! I just spent the last two nights staying up late reading all of them! 😍 Thank you so much for your efforts in this — Ling Ke and Qi Feng are one of my favorite danmei couples now.

    Like

  4. Where are you now?
    Cause I’m thinking of you
    I really miss the summaries you do
    If it wasn’t for you I would not have read this story.
    Where are you now. T_T

    Like

  5. Where are you now?
    Cause I’m thinking of you
    I really miss the summaries that you do
    If it wasn’t for you I could not have read this story
    Where are you now? T_T

    Like

  6. Thank you so much for the chapter/s! I binge-read the entire Refrain arc and they are so cuuuute 😭

    Keep up the amazing work, Winter! But remember to take care of yourself too 😊

    Like

  7. AHHHHHHHhhhhhhhh finally!!! ‘Everything’ is outta the closet now phew~
    Thanks so much for these summaries, been really enjoying them!!!

    Like

  8. Ahhh!! I stayed up to 2am to read this all in one go. This is just too amazing~~~

    Hope QF has a positive reaction and everything gets cleared up in one go!

    Thank you so much for the translation!!! (always felt that it feels like a translation instead of a summary XD)

    Liked by 2 people

  9. That was sooo frigging cute!! Finally, QF knows how nuch he is loved (love bordering on stalker mode, but cute all the same). Hope LK can really differrentiate them. From experience, it can be done if they have a bit of character deviation from each other. But from face alone, well he can stare at QF’s face and start memorizing it >.<

    Thank you for the sweetness!!

    Like

  10. Everyone is doing their best to bring these two together, even Qi Bro. My heart was beating so fast in this chapter!

    Thanks for the summary~

    Like

  11. That was so sweet and Qi Yu youre a troll lol but for all the good intentions or not lol
    I mean hes very much a big bro but also a sibling if you get me
    Ling Ke that was so romantic good luck your boyfriend wont let you go ever after hearing that
    Thank you for the summary winter and I hope you get better Im also greeting the new year with bad health

    Like

Leave a comment